Seven Deadly Sins

Examination of Conscience - based on the Seven Deadly Sins

#1 - PRIDE

Pride is a deep pleasure or satisfaction derived from one's own achievements, the achievements of those with whom one is closely associated, or from qualities or possessions that are widely admired. The VIRTUE in opposition to PRIDE is HUMILITY, which is a modest view of one's own importance.

Sub-sins of Pride:

  • disobedience - failure or refusal to obey authority
  • boastfulness - showing excessive pride
  • hypocrisy - not conforming to one's own standards
  • contention - heated disagreement
  • obstinacy - stubbornness
  • discord - lack of harmony
  • excess love of 'novelties' - overly concerned with fashion, technology, and other 'stuff'

#2 - ANGER

Anger is a strong feeling of annoyance, displeasure, or hostility. The VIRTUE in opposition to ANGER is FORGIVENESS, which is the action or process of forgiving others.

Sub-sins of Anger:

  • indignation - annoyance provoked by what is perceived to be unfair
  • swelling of the mind - gradual building of strong feelings of annoyance displeasure, or hostility
  • clamour - raising the voice
  • blasphemy - profane talk
  • name calling - abusive language or insults
  • quarrels - arguments or disagreements

#3 - LUST

Lust is a very strong sexual desire, or a strong passionate desire for something. The VIRTUE in opposition to LUST is CHASTITY, which is the freedom from immorality, especially of a sexual nature.

Sub-sins of Lust:

  • blindness of mind - turning a blind eye and acting on temptation
  • thoughtlessness - no consideration for others
  • inconstancy - not faithful or dependable, constantly changing
  • impulsiveness - acting without thinking or forethought
  • self-love - tending to be smug and superior
  • hatred of God
  • love of the world
  • contempt for Heaven

#4 - ENVY

Envy is a feeling of discontented or resentful longing aroused by someone else's possessions, qualities, or blessings. The VIRTUE in opposition to ENVY is ADMIRATION, which is respect or warm approval of others.

Sub-sins of Envy:

  • hatred - intense dislike or ill-will
  • tale-bearing - malicious gossip or revealing secrets
  • detraction - reducing or taking away the worth or value of a person or thing
  • joy at other`s misfortune
  • grief of other`s prosperity


Gluttony is an excess consumption of food, drink, or pleasure. The VIRTUE in opposition to GLUTTONY is ASCETICISM, which is self-discipline and avoidance of all forms of indulgence.

Sub-sins of Gluttony:

  • unseemly joy - improper or inappropriate 'happiness'
  • vulgarity - lacking sophistication or good taste
  • uncleanness - impurity or unfitness
  • loquaciousness - talking overly much
  • dullness of mind regarding understanding


Avarice is an obsession with money or covetousness (wanting what other people have). The VIRTUE in opposition to AVARICE is GENEROSITY, which is the quality of being kind and generous and practicing good stewardship of your resources.

Sub-sins of Avarice:

  • treachery - deception or betrayal of trust
  • fraud - wrongful or criminal deception
  • falsehood - lying or untruthfulness
  • perjury - willingly telling a lie after taking an oath to tell the truth
  • restlessness - anxiety and discontent over possessions
  • violence - behaviour involving physical force intended to hurt, damage, or kill someone or something
  • insensibility for mercy - lack of concern or compassion for the plight of others

#7 - SLOTH

Sloth is an aversion to seeking the spiritual disciplines of prayer, bible study, church attendance, etc. The VIRTUE in opposition to SLOTH is ZEAL, which is great energy or enthusiasm.

Sub-sins of Sloth:

  • malice - intention or desire to do evil
  • spite - desire to hurt, annoy or offend
  • faintheartedness - being timid or lacking courage
  • sluggishness - with regard to living the Ten Commandments and Law of Love
  • wandering of the mind after unlawful things