History of Our CWL

The CWL Council of St. Theresa's Middlechurch was first established on March 7, 1961 in the home of Mrs. M. Skuba, as the 'Catholic Ladies Society of St. Theresa', and became Charter #2271, the 161st Council of the Catholic Women's League of Canada. At this inaugural meeting, chaired by Miss Olga Herdy, 40 charter members joined. The first president was Mrs. Helen Pelissier, the first secretary was Mrs. Richard Obirek, and the first spiritual director was Reverend E.L. Obirek from the Archdiocese of Winnipeg. Other executive members were Mrs. C. Smith, Rose Grimshaw, Rosemary Dearman, Mrs. F Bohncke, Mrs. J. Fulsher, Mrs. M. Hlady, Mrs. G Schreyer, and Mrs. K. Lyss. Also present were Miss Anne Herdy and Mrs. Jean Kiazyk. This initial council was very active, and was responsible for organizing numerous fundraising functions. Proceeds were used to support of the Sisters of St. Benedict's social action programs, and for the payment of the church debt. During the seventies, membership declined, and the organization became inactive.

After a number of years, the Council was disbanded, but was reactivated on December 8, 1992 as Charter #2272, with the following Charter Officers:

  • President: Jacqueline Camier
  • Vice-President: Linda Lucciola
  • Secretary: Caroline Meseric
  • Treasurer: Wanda Wachal
  • Spiritual Director: Father Robert Polz

Since 2016 there has been no executive elected, and so the St Theresa's Catholic Women's League became the St Theresa's CWL Prayer Council.

There are currently over 75 members in the St Theresa's CWL Prayer Council.